# 前言

在同一条区块链上需要具有多个互操作的软件实现,每个实现都有自己的安全问题集,但是所有实现不尽相同,因此,启动具有多种实现方式的加密货币网络可降低发生灾难性错误的可能性,Venus正是Filecoin的实现之一。

Venus代指Filecoin的通用实现之一,venus则代指Venus的组件之一。Venus致力于帮助中小矿工能够更加简单的加入到Filecoin生态网络建设中。

目前Venus通过venus、venus-sealer、venus-miner、venus-wallet、venus-messager、venus-auth组件,已经实现了Filecoin分布式矿池的支持,未来,Venus将持续完善自身,并共同推进开源的Filecoin开发与生态的发展。

# 为什么我们要这样做

2020年6月,Protocol Lab发起了关于由社区后续维护go-filecoin的RFP,IPFSForce随后申请并获得了维护权。10月,go-filecoin更名为Venus,我们继续推进对Venus项目的维护工作。

在重新保持维护之前,Venus是一个严重缺乏维护的项目。协议和组件上,vm/mpool/chain/rpc虽然都有了,但是全都存在不同程度的问题,我们用了三个多月的时间,逐渐修复很多协议层、代码层,、性能的问题,使得Venus完成了与Lotus的互操作,让使用Venus的节点可以正常的在网络上运行。后续我们又逐渐的让Venus支持了Calibration、Nerpa、2k网络。

完成以上工作后,我们着手于Venus的开发方向。

我们的设计是让Venus向矿池的发展角度去支持,最初的设计是从“如何扩展单一矿工”思考,这个方向存在理论上的可行性,但是最大的问题在于Filecoin独特的证明机制。因为Filecoin网络的矿工必须周期性的提交‘时空证明’,而为了生成证明,矿工必须读取一整个partition的数据,如果sector极其分散的分布到不同的地方,通过公网读取,则不是一个可执行的方案。

后来我们通过数次的设计与修改,最终产生了现在的方案,就是分布式矿池。分布式矿池并非体现在单一矿工,而是将分布式的概念体现在多矿工的管理,这更像一个矿工联合体。

Venus分布式矿池在外部的体现和传统的分布式矿池是相似的。在存储资源上体现在地域分布性,只要有网络可以访问的地方,都可以使节点接入到Venus矿池;在出块的角度上,因为Filecoin按算力比例来计算出块机率,所以分散的计算和整体的计算的最终结果应该是相同:n1/p+ n2/p+n3/p......= (n1+n2+n3+.....)/p,这在算法的基础上提供了理论基础。

在真实数据存储检索上,矿工可以通过venus统一入口接入网络或者自主接入。设计中,venus会在获得矿工允许的条件下,按照数据的访问需求来选择合适的节点存储数据,使得数据更贴近真实的使用场景。

  1. 数据存储:支持组件共享,存储会逐渐迁移到MySQL,通过一些高可用的方案保证Venus的元数据安全。
  2. 共享组件:支持高可用,保证服务的质量,减少矿工的时间成本与维护成本,这使得矿工能够更容易加入到矿池生态中。现在的挖矿活动专业性很强,而实现Filecoin利用闲散存储资源的梦想则不可避免需要降低参与门槛,才能吸引更多的参与者进来。
  3. 聚集出块权:矿工能够将资源整合在一起,互相帮助打包消息,这样可以避免小矿工的消息无人打包的困境。
  4. 提升Filecoin网络的吞吐量:如果同一高度存在多个区块,venus-miner能够保证每个区块中的消息都是不同的,而如果各自出块,消息则很可能大量重复。
  5. 提升消息的稳定性:挖矿活动中的消息可以和节点分开,由venus-messager来管理,venus-messager会跟踪链的最新状态来设置一个相对合理的预估的gas参数,同时也支持用户自己设置一个消息参数。
  6. 提升数据访问速度:目前的Filecoin网络更多的还是存储,但是作为一个存储服务,最终需要对外输出检索服务才能实现根本价值。如果有足够多的矿工使用Venus,那么Venus在真实数据的处理上就有更多的可能,比如数据的分布,Venus可以将数据分布到距离客户最近的一些矿工节点,这样可以提高客户的访问速度;比如一些公有数据可以把这些数据尽可能的分散到更多的节点上,保障在任意位置的访问都有效,这可以大大提升IPFS网络的效能,进一步实现IPFS Web3.0的梦想。

# venus如何工作

Venus是Filecoin的通用实现之一,致力于分布式的集群架构及更简洁的职责划分。

Venus分布式存储池在外部的呈现和传统的分布式矿池是相似的。在存储资源上体现在地域分布性,只要有网络可以访问的地方,都可以使节点接入到Venus矿池。

# venus

venus类似lotus-daemon,用于实现全节点。venus接入Filecoin区块链网络,为Venus提供数据支持。可以把venus当作普通节点来使用,它具有区块链节点必备的所有功能,如chain、 mpool、wallet。venus的接口和lotus基本兼容(如果存在不兼容的接口,欢迎发布Issue),你可以在venus上创建私钥、查询资产、转账等等。在典型部署环境里,venus仅仅提供基础链上数据查询服务,本身不保存私钥。slashfilter所需要的区块数据,存储到数据库里,节点本身是无状态的,这样通过nginx反向代理后就可以实现venus节点的高可用。

venus节点自身有一些区别与lotus的地方:

  1. 创建区块的接口中支持了外部签名(后续会向Lotus提PR)
  2. 消息选择的接口支持同时选择多个批次的消息,用于多矿工出块时选择消息。
  3. 支持venus-auth的的中心访问授权

因此如果对Venus/Lotus混合部署感兴趣,需要使用我们维护的lotus兼容venus的项目,可自行pick代码编译。

# venus-auth

venus-auth是用于授权的组件,在典型的部署环境下venus-auth用于给venus、venus-miner、venus-messager提供授权服务,每个本地的节点访问共享组件都要经过授权,后续会在这个基础上进行功能扩充,做一些安全方面的控制,比如访问限流、黑名单。

# venus-miner

venus-miner的作用是聚集出块权,可以为接入链服务的多个集群执行出块逻辑。venus-miner有以下特点:

  1. 分离数据:由于生成区块的过程需要访问数据,并且矿工的sealer可能是异构的,但目前多数矿工会使用自己定制的代码,那么要实现联合挖矿就存在如何访问到这些数据的问题。通过隔断venus-miner对存储组织方式的依赖,通过让证明在矿工侧完成,无论矿工的sealer如何组织存储,只要实现了ComputeProof接口,venus-miner就可以通过这个接口来生成证明。
  2. 分离私钥:计算随机数及签名区块的过程中,所有涉及到私钥的操作都通过远程钱包的方式来访问,这样既无泄漏集群私钥,又能保证出块逻辑正常运行。
  3. 提高网络TPS:当venus-miner负责的矿工在一个周期获得多个(>1)出块权,venus-miner会尽量从消息池中选择不同的消息进行打包,这样一定程度上可以提升消息上链的速度,同时使该出块可能获得更多的小费奖励(Premium)。
  4. 收益稳定性: 多矿工联合挖矿配套奖励池分配系统可以让小矿工每天都能获得区块奖励,也可以减少某些矿工偶发性出块错误造成的损失.

# venus-messager

venus-messager组件的目标是更好的帮助消息上链,并能够灵活的控制消息上链的时机,减少gas消耗,流量控制等。其中包括远程钱包管理、地址管理、消息管理。

  1. 地址管理:主要是管理nonce值,保证nonce值能够按照正确的顺序分配。
  2. 消息管理:消息管理分成三个部分,分别是“消息接收和保存”、“消息选择及推送”“消息上链状态的追踪”。
  3. GasFee管理:可以按地址分别设置gasLimit的系数和maxFee。

从功能性上来说:

  1. 远程钱包支持:一个venus-messager支持多个钱包,分别管理自己的message。
  2. 支持sqlite本地存储和mysql远程存储:存储更加安全稳定。
  3. 动态填充:根据gas和push策略,在链上发送消息时,需要填写gas相关参数和nonce,以确保gas估算和其他设置有效。
  4. 维护消息状态:包括消息是否被链接和替换,保存执行结果。
  5. 多点消息传递(通过Mpool API推送到多个节点):确保消息在网络上传播。
  6. 灵活配置:包括gas估算、消息推送策略等。

# venus-wallet

venus-wallet是一个远程钱包,协议上能够同时支持lotus和venus。在典型的部署环境中,这个组件由矿工部署在本地,并通过一定的策略配置保证资产的安全。venus-wallet有以下功能特点:

  1. 私钥管理模块:目前支持非对称算法BLS和SECP的私钥管理,能够生成随机私钥,并运用aes128对私钥进行对称加密存储,同时支持私钥对数据进行签名。
  2. 签名验证:每种签名类型都有对应验证策略,保证了签名方不能在签名类型上欺骗钱包。
  3. 签名策略模块:针对Filecoin的Lotus及Venus实现,对存在的数10种数据结构以及message数据结构中的60余种签名类型进行统一管理,按需配置各种组合方式绑定私钥签名规则,而后可以将数种不同的私钥签名规则组成一个整体,授权于外部组件使用。

# venus-sealer + venus-worker

venus-sealer基本延续lotus的挖矿部分, 我们把sealer中和挖矿相关的代码剥离出来形成venus-sealer,两个项目的区别在于:

  1. 接入了messager系统,所有的消息都是在messager中进行管理.
  2. 存储脱离badger,使用sqlite保存(元数据,sector状态机系信息,调度及其结果),后续会进一步支持mysql存储,保证数据的安全性。

# venus-market

venus-market是Venus系统中的市场组件。其愿景是打造Filecoin网络中分布式的存储和检索市场。目前已经实现了兼容Lotus协议的订单存储和检索,逐渐向着venus-market服务多个集群的接单,对外提供统一的检索服务方向发展。可参见venus-market设计与路线图 (opens new window)

# venus-gateway

venus-gateway是独立组件与链服务层的桥梁,用于简化部署并降低矿工访问的复杂性、增加矿工访问的安全性。独立组件启动时将其服务接口注册到venus-gateway,链服务组件需要时通过venus-gateway请求对应集群的服务接口。

  • 存储提供者不需要外部IP和曝光钱包服务;
  • 存储池配置SSL证书后,集群与存储池的连接是安全的;
  • 存储提供者可以简单地将多个客户端(钱包/证明)注册到存储池以获得高可用性。

venus-gateway

# venus-cluster

venus-cluster是Venus即将推出的新版本扇区封装组、算力维持组件,相对于目前的venus-sealer,在任务调度、最大化系统资源方面有一定优势,其面向的用户受众也将有所不同,目前进入测试阶段。

敬请期待venus-cluster的更多进展

Last Updated: 2021/10/15 下午3:36:44

# Preface

Multiple interoperable implementations are required on the same public blockchain. Each implementation may has its own set of security issues, but they are not all the same . Therefore, launching cryptocurrency networks with multiple implementations can reduce the catastrophic errors. Venus is one of the four implementations in Filecoin network.

Venus (Capital V) refers to one of the general implementations of Filecoin, while venus (v in lowercase) refers to one of the components of Venus. Venus is committed to helping small and medium-sized storage providers to join the Filecoin ecosystem network with a lower barrier.

Now Venus has lead the way to the distributed storage pool of Filecoin through components like venus, venus-sealer, venus-miner, venus-wallet, venus-messager and venus-auth. In the future, Venus will continue its evolvement and jointly promote the open source development of Filecoin ecosystem.

# Why are we doing this

On June 2020, Protocol Labs launched an RFP to handover the maintenance of go-filecoin to another community member, and IPFSForce applied for it and successfully obtain the project. In October, We renamed go-filecoin as Venus, and take over the maintenance of Venus Implementation.

Before IPFSForce’s application, maintenance effort is seriously lacking in Venus project. In terms of protocols and components, vm,mpool, chain, rpc are all available, but all have different kind of issue. It takes Venus team more than 3 months to gradually fix protocol layer, code layer, and problematic fuctions, making Venus complete the interoperability with Lotus, so that the nodes using Venus can run smoothly in the Filecoin network. And then we let Venus support calibration and 2K networks.

After completing the above work, we start to set the roadmap of Venus development.

We plan to let Venus support the development of storage pool. At the begining, we decide to achieve the best of expansion from a single storage provider. It is technically feasible, but the biggest problem was caused by the mechanism of Filecoin proofs. Storage providers in the Filecoin network have to submit the PoSt periodically, and in order to generate the proof, they need to read the data of a whole Partition. If all sectors are distributed in different places, to read the data through the public network will be heavy time-consuming.

After that, through several times of re-design and modification, we finally decide to build it as a distributed storage pool. Distributed storage pool will not completely in charge with any single storage provider, but managed by multiple storage providers, which is more like a storage provider group/union.

The external features of Venus distributed storage pool are similar to other pools. Storage Providers can store their resources in distributed geographic nodes. As long as there is a stable connection to the network, the storage provider can create a node accessible to Venus storage pool; The probability of earning the block reward is proportional to the amount of storage the miner contributes to the Filecoin network, and the final result of separate calculation and overall calculation should be the same: n1/p+ n2/p+n3/p......= (n1+n2+n3+.....)/p, which provides a theoretical basis on the algorithm.

For the storage and retrieval, storage providers can access the network through the venus unified entrance or by themselves. In the design and with the permission from storage providers, venus will select the appropriate node to store data according to specific requirements, so that the data is closer to the real scenario.

  1. Data storage: component sharing is supported, and the storage will be gradually migrated to MySQL to ensure the metadata security of Venus through some highly available solutions.

  2. Shared Modules: support high availability, ensure the quality of service, reduce the time cost and maintenance cost of miners, which make it easier for miners to join the storage pool. Nowadays, mining is a high-tech activity, but to achieve Filecoin's goal to get the utmost out of storage resources, it is inevitable to lower the threshold to attract more participants.

  3. Combine the right for more block rewards: miners can integrate resources together and help each other pack messages, so as to avoid the situation of small miners that no one can pack messages.

  4. Improve the TPS of Filecoin network: if there are multiple blocks at the same height, venus-miner can ensure that the messages in each block are different, as the avoidance of highly-repeated messages when blocks are separated.

  5. Improve the stability of messages: messages in storing activities can be separated from nodes and managed by venus-messager, which can track the latest state of the chain to set a relatively reasonable estimated gas parameter, and also supports users to set a message parameter themselves.

  6. Improve the speed of data access: the current Filecoin network is more like a pool which is merely for data storage, but as a complete data service, it also needs data retrieval to realize its real value. With sufficient miner users, Venus has more chances to promote the real data application. For example, for data distribution, Venus can distribute the data to some miners' nodes nearest to the customers, which can improve the access speed; some public data can distribute these data to more nodes as much as possible to ensure that access at any location is effective, which can greatly improve the performance of IPFS network and further realize the goal of IPFS, as one of the Web3.0 solutions.

# How Venus works

# Architecture

Venus architecture includes venus, venus-miner, venus-sealer, venus-messager, venus-wallet, venus-auth, and venus-market which is still in design. In the classic architecture, venus, venus-miner, venus-auth, venus-messager and venus-market are public components, and venus-sealer and venus-wallet are local components.

Public components can be established by service providers or by multiple storage providers, and they only need to run venus-sealer, venus-worker and venus-wallet locally. In fact, all components of Venus are protocol oriented. If storage providers have sufficient skills, they can also deploy all or part of the public components locally, so the deployment can be more flexible.

The following figure is a typical application scenario in our design.

The following contents show the relationship between components, which are similar in function, but with more powerful expanded functions in details and uses.

  • venus-auth --> token authentication service extend lotus jwt
  • venus-miner --> lotus-miner block produce part
  • venus-sealer --> lotus-miner sealer scheduler part/wd
  • venus-worker --> lotus-worker
  • venus daemon --> lotus daemon
  • venus-wallet -> lotus wallet part
  • venus-messager --> lotus mpool

# venus-auth

venus-auth is a component used for authorization. In a typical deployment environment, venus-auth is used to provide authorization services to venus, venus-miner and venus-messager. Local nodes need to be authorized to have access to the shared components. Based on the authorization, venus-auth will expand its functions, such as security control, including access restriction and blacklist.

# venus

venus is similar to lotus-daemon, which is used to support all nodes. venus is connected to the Filecoin blockchain network to provide data support for Venus. venus can be used as an ordinary node. It has all the necessary functions of blockchain nodes, such as chain, mpool and wallet. The APIs of venus are almost compatible with those of lotus (you can mention the issue of incompatible APIs). On venus, you can create private keys, query assets, transfer funds, etc. In a typical deployment environment, venus only provides data query service on the basic chain without private key restoration. The block data needed by slashfilter is stored in the database, and the node itself is stateless. In this case, venus node can realize its high availability through nginx reverse proxy.

# Venus and Lotus,The Difference

  1. External signature is supported in the API of creating block (request will be proposed to lotus too).
  2. The API of message selection supports the selection of multiple batches of messages at the same time, which is used to select messages when multiple storage providers get the block rewards.
  3. Support the centralized authorization access to venus-auth.

Therefore, if you are interested in the mixed deployment of venus / lotus, you need to use Venus project which is compatible to Lotus or pick your own CCS.

# venus-miner

The function of venus-miner is to combine the rights to earn block rewards. The program can configure the location of multiple miners and their sealers and wallets, and generate blocks for these miners at the same time. venus-miner has the following features:

  1. Separate data: because the process of generating blocks needs to access data, and storage provider's sealer may be heterogeneous, but now most miners will use their own codes, so there is a problem about how to access these data to realize joint mining. By venus-miner’s independence on the storage organization mode and completing the proofs by miners, no matter how the miner's sealer organizes the storage, as long as the Computeproof API is implemented, venus-miner can generate the proof through it.
  2. Separate private key: when calculating random numbers and signature blocks, all operations about private key are accessed through remote wallet, which can improve the security of mining activities.
  3. Improve miners' wincount and TPS: when the miner who uses venus-miner rto get multiple (> 1) rights of block rewards in a period, venus-miner will try to select different messages from the message pool for packaging, which can somehow improve the speed of these messages on the chain, and make the block get more gas premium.

# venus-messenger

The goal of venus-messager is to help messages on chain more efficiently, and to flexibly control the timing of messages on chain to reduce gas consumption and control the data traffic, etc. It includes remote wallet management, address management and message management.

  1. Wallet management: venus-messager connects multiple wallets and scans these addresses into the list.
  2. Address management: the major purpose is to manage the nonce value to ensure that the value can be assigned in the correct order.
  3. Message management: it is divided into three parts, namely "message receiving and saving", "message selection and pushing" and "tracking the status of message on the chain".

In terms of functions:

  1. Support remote wallet: one messenger supports multiple wallets to manage their message separately.
  2. Support local storage of SQLite and remote storage of MySQL for more secure and stable storage.
  3. Dynamic Fill: gas related parameters and nonce are to be filled out when sending a message on chain according to gas and push policy, to make sure the gas-estimation and other setting are valid.
  4. Maintain message status, including whether the message is chained and replaced and save the results of the execution.
  5. Multi-point message delivery (directly to the blockchain network with libp2p, push to the node by Mpool API), to make sure that messages are propagated over the network.
  6. Flexible config includes gas estimate, msg push strategy, etc.

# venus-wallet

venus-wallet is a remote wallet, which can support both Lotus and Venus in terms of protocols. In a typical deployment environment, this module is deployed locally by miners, and the security of assets is guaranteed by certain policy configuration. venus-wallet has the following features:

  1. Private key management function: currently it supports the private key management of asymmetric algorithms BLS and SECP, and it can generate random private key, and uses aes128 to encrypt and store the private key symmetrically whilst supports the private key to sign the data.
  2. Signature verification: each signature type has its verification policy, which ensures that the signer won't do deceits the wallet through non-credible signature type.
  3. Signature tactics module: for the Lotus and Venus implementation of Filecoin, the module is created to manage 10 existing data structures and more than 60 signature types in message data structure, and configure various combination methods on demand to bind private key signature rules, and then integrate several different private key signature rules and authorize them to external components for further usage.

# venus-sealer + venus-worker

venus-sealer continues the basic features of the mining part of lotus. We separate the mining related code from the sealer to form venus-sealer. The differences are:

  1. Access to the messager system, and all messages are managed in the messager.
  2. Storage is separated from the badger, and SQLite is used to save metadata, sector state, machine information, scheduling and related results. In the future, MySQL storage will be further supported to ensure data security.

# Some ideas for the future

The following plans mainly focus on:

  1. Follow up with the latest Filecoin network release.
  2. Work on the venus-market project and improve the entire venus architecture.
  3. Optimize venus-sealer scheduling method and storage improvements (in planning).
  4. Improve the usability of each venus module, continuously test components, fix potential bugs, ensure the stability and security of venus architecture, and simplify the procedure of deployment.
  5. Optimize the log system to facilitate problem query and tracking.
Last Updated: 11/17/2021, 11:28:12 AM